Parent Child Conflict

I am fortunate that, for the most part, my life is relatively free of conflict. I live a peaceful, low-stress existence and that is just fine with me. However, there are some conflicts in my life and they are mostly with my sweet, lovely little daughter. I love her to death, I do, but that kid pushes my buttons in amazing ways. She is smart, sassy, beautiful and a whole lot like me and her father.

IMG_0888

 

What I have noticed about my daughter is that she is incredibly perceptive and even more sensitive. She cries easily and yells even easier. It is something that her teacher at school has brought up to us and it is something that we are trying to work on at home. I find it surprising how difficult it is for me to remain logical when I am in a conflict with my daughter because I am an expert in working with young children and I have maintained a saint’s patience in some very challenging situations with children before. With her, though, it is different.

I know that I have a responsibility to work on my conflict resolution skills with my daughter. Our relationship is sacred and we need to ensure that our communication is on solid ground well before adolescence takes hold. When we disagree I can ensure that I take the time to acknowledge her perspective and consider potential compromises. I can be patient with her need to cry as a form of processing disappointment. I can manage my own emotions while remaining assertive and clear about my expectations. I can be the parent I need to be and keep conflict to a minimum with my child. She’s the best thing in my life and she is so worth it.

~ by vegucationmama on October 5, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
