Horses

It’s funny how sometimes moments in our life that seem either insignificant or downright sad can end up becoming the very moments that remind us of the small things that make life joyful and worth it. Recently I had just such an experience. My husband’s uncle passed away in October so we packed our bags and headed to North Dakota to be with his family. We spent most of our time on his aunt’s farm eating, drinking, laughing, and riding horses.

I have always loved this magnificent animal. Steady, loyal, and they don’t put up with bullshit from nervous, controlling humans. They are my kind of animal. I haven’t ridden a horse since I was a teenager and I was quickly drawn to them. Their power and grace is compelling to watch and I found myself photographing them. Being with the horses left me simultaneously exhilarated and calm.

While I am a complete amateur, I captured some lovely images. So, for today, we can pretend that this is a photography blog and enjoy the beauty of horses together. I am grateful that they exist.

IMG_0063

IMG_0057

IMG_0062

IMG_0067

IMG_0361

While the white horse was my favorite, they were all sturdy and elegant.

IMG_0363

IMG_0367

IMG_0370

IMG_0378

IMG_0374

IMG_0381

I went to North Dakota to support my husband and his family in a time of grief. I was not expecting to find healing for myself.

~ by vegucationmama on November 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
