Rool Book

Rules. Rules. Rules. Being a parent and a school administrator, I feel as though I spend the majority of my day focusing on and emphasizing rules and expectations in the school and in my home. It is exhausting enough to cause me to become complacent with anarchy as my life philosophy…well, for about two seconds until I realize that I am MUCH too orderly to ever be able to really embrace the concept of anarchy as a way of life.

Recently, I was given an opportunity to reassess the concept of “rules” and what really matters. My daughter came from her bedroom and handed me a giant stack of paper held together with a binder clip. On the cover she drew a square and wrote the words “Rool Book” at the top. She instructed me to draw a self-portrait in the square and then write my rules in the book. At first I just set it aside after drawing my self-portrait (I’m holding flowers and a chopping knife) and passed it off as another one of the plethora of random art activities that are created in our home. It sat on the coffee table for several days until I started to ponder the opportunity laid before me. My little girl wants to know my rules. She is at an age when she sees me as the perfect example of a woman (despite my obvious and numerous flaws, which she will surely discover soon). This gives me the chance to share something with her that she might not be able to hear in a few years. So, I present to you my “Rool Book”:

 Rool Book

  • Have fun. A lot of it. Whenever possible.
  • Trust yourself.
  • Know that true beauty is revealed in words and actions.
  • Do things you care about deeply and do them well.
  • Family is more important than anything else.
  • Remember that the people who challenge you the most teach you the most.
  • Respect yourself.
  • Respect others.
  • Respect the spaces you live in and use.
  • Eat good food.
  • Travel the world and get to know the locals everywhere you go.
  • Embrace change with optimism.
  • Forgive
  • Let go.
  • Be kind.
  • Remember that you don’t have to be who people want you to be, you only have to be who you are.
  • Take care of your body.
  • Go outside as much as you can.
  • Take deep breaths.
  • Drink water.
  • Sleep well.
  • Read
  • Grow things.
  • Make things.
  • Remember that you deserve your basic human rights, everything else you have to earn.
  • Have animals in your life.
  • When everything is going wrong, laugh until you cry.
  • Take the time to appreciate odd people; they are the most interesting ones!
  • Listen to beautiful music, even if your friends don’t think it’s cool.
  • Don’t sweat it. Few things in life are actually the big deal we think they are.
  • Be honest with the people in your life, even if what you have to say is hard to hear.
  • Be open to the hard things people have to say to you, especially if they are being said by people who love you.
  • Do work that matters to you.
  • Apologize when you know you have wronged someone.
  • Be a helper.
  • Let go of people who don’t serve to make your life a better experience.
  • Have passion.
  • Remember that you have enough.
  • Be grateful.
  • Be here now.
  • Have fun. A lot of it. Whenever possible.

 

There you have it, the words of wisdom I have for my sweet little daughter. Some of it is way over her 7-year-old head right now, but on some level I know that these words will stick. I hope that she revisits them as she gets older and can understand. Many of these lessons I know that she will only learn the hard way as I did. What would you add to this list?

 

~ by vegucationmama on November 2, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
