Impulsive Inclinations

My husband is impulsive. He is truly adept at living fully in the moment in a way that I will never be. His inclination towards impulsivity sometimes yields surprisingly joyful results. Sometimes they lead to heartburn. Often, they lead to both. He is someone who is motivated by feeling and action with little thought about long-term vision or implications. Fortunately, I am a very patient woman with a high tolerance for risk and a deep appreciation for the excited little boy in him that just wants to bring fun and curiosity into our home.

A perfect example of this “in the moment” excitement happened a few years ago. Our daughter was about one-and-a-half and Steve’s mother wanted us to take her out to Missouri to meet her great-grandparents. Steve’s work wouldn’t give him the time off. I, on the other hand, was un-employed. So I trekked to Missouri with my daughter and my mother-in-law to spend a week with my husband’s grandparents in Unionville, MO. Never heard of it? Neither has anyone else. We left Steve in Denver to work an 80 hour week at his two jobs.

We were broke. Not just a tiny bit broke, we were broke. I wasn’t working at all and Steve’s two jobs were barely enough to pay the bills and buy food. Steve was completely stressed and exhausted and I felt terrible that I wasn’t able to bring home any income (I only ended up being unemployed for six weeks, so we were okay). So I was going to Missouri so that I could at least make some sort of a contribution to our family, even if it was only an emotional one.

My week in Missouri was quiet. I got to spend a lot of time with my daughter and it was nice to get to know my husband’s family a little better. But, I was really anxious to get home so that I could be with Steve and look for a job. Steve’s sister picked us up at the airport and took us home. When we walked in the door, I noticed a big green plastic box sitting in the living room. My curious toddler walked over to it and suddenly squealed in a way that I had never heard before. I walked over and saw a sleek black puppy with giant orange paws. My first thought, “Oh my god! how much money did he spend on this thing?!” He was awfully cute, though. Steve’s sister smiled nervously at me, sensing my mixed reaction.

That thing turned out to be Moe, our Rottweiler-German Shephard-we’re not quite sure mix. He is, hands down, the best dog ever. I will go toe-to-toe with you on this one! No, we didn’t have the $130 that my husband spend on him at the shelter. But I can’t imagine not having Moe in our family. He is so loyal and so good. He is our daughter’s best buddy. He is protective and gentle.

I am so grateful that my husband knew what our family needed. It was a hard time and we were desperate for an infusion of joy. Steve’s excitement when a saw an ad for Rottweiler puppies led to an impulsive decision to drive 50 miles outside of Denver to spend money that we didn’t have on something that we absolutely needed. He has managed to turn his impulses into blessings for our family. Lucky us.

~ by vegucationmama on November 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
