Is the current role of government sustainable?

I find myself asking this question a lot these days. I have found the government poking into my life in ways that seem completely non-sensical and incredibly far-reaching, and I know that I am not the only one. Case in point: Memphis, Tennessee. Here we find the sad tale of high school math teacher, Adam Guerrero, and three teenage boys from his neighborhood Jovante, Jarvis and Shaquielle. They have a garden in Guerrero’s front yard. They grow vegetables and sunflowers that are healthy, beautiful and stay off the sidewalk. In the backyard they are composting, collecting rainwater and keeping honey bees. In the garage they make biodiesel fuel and then turn the glycerine by-product from the fuel into soap. This, my loyal friends and readers, is learning that is fun, useful and helping to create the next generation of great minds. Giving children opportunities such as this is the answer to America’s woes. We need creative thinkers with practical skills.However, the city of Memphis and the judiciary rulers therein have deemed Guerrero’s property to be a “nuisance” that is “unsightly”. They have ordered these gardening thugs to cease their operations and tear down their gardens. Now, I don’t know if you have been to Memphis anytime lately. I haven’t. You know why? Because it’s a shit hole, that’s why. It is riddled with abandoned property and vandalized lots. Yet the government has deemed this lovely little garden that is bringing hope and opportunity to children in Memphis to be a blight on the city.

Mr. Guerrero's nuisance garden.

Government is necessary and serves a very important purpose: protect and support the people. Please tell me, who is this garden hurting? How do the residents of the city of Memphis suffer due to these vegetables? And my final question…have we really come to this? Maybe I find this case to be extra offensive because I grow vegetables in my front yard and I can’t imagine being cited by the city for it. But, I suppose it is really not all that unlikely.

Another nuisance house in Memphis. Tires and vegetables are both a problem.

~ by vegucationmama on September 22, 2011.

3 Responses to “Is the current role of government sustainable?”

  1. I hope you don’t mind I re-posted this on my blog with a link to your original. This just one example of a ton of things that is going on that is not correct in our world right now.

Leave a Reply

 
